The Junior LSLA was created in Summer 2011 to represent the interests of junior civil litigators in London of less than 8 years PQE, to provide an environment for learning and social interaction, and to assist junior practitioners to develop their own practices.

The Junior LSLA puts on a number of events for its members and their guests throughout the year. These include "How to…" seminars relevant to the needs of junior members of the profession. The focus is on creating a relaxed environment in which to exchange ideas, debate topical issues and meet fellow civil litigators. Many of the seminars will be held in conjunction with our counterparts at Junior COMBAR and Junior LSLA members will be able to benefit from discounted rates. We also organise social events with junior bar groups and an annual dinner.

The Junior LSLA's relationship with the LSLA provides us with the opportunity to take part in consultations and to represent the interests of junior litigators. As part of the LSLA, the Junior LSLA strives to ensure that the views and opinions of junior litigators are properly considered and are not overlooked.

Junior LSLA Champions

As part of our drive to increase awareness of the Junior LSLA and the opportunities it can provide junior practitioners, we have established a group of Junior LSLA Champions; junior lawyers within firms practicing litigation in London.

Junior LSLA Champions act as the principal point of contact between the Junior LSLA and individuals within their respective firms, to promote membership of the LSLA and to raise awareness of Junior LSLA lectures and networking events.

A list of Junior LSLA Champions can be found here. If your firm is not yet represented by a Champion and you would like to volunteer please get in touch with a member of the JLSLA committee

Follow the JLSLA on Linkedin

Junior LSLA Committee

Ra’eesa Mehta

Ra’eesa Mehta, President

Herbert Smith Freehills LLP
Exchange House
Primrose Street
London
EC2A 2EG
T: 020 7374 8000
E: Raeesa.Mehta@hsf.com

Avneet Baryan

Avneet Baryan, Vice President

Rosling King LLP
55 Ludgate Hill
London
EC4M 7JW

T: 020 7246 8000
E: Avneet.Baryan@rkllp.com

Sian Akerman

Siân Akerman

Kingsley Napley LLP
20 Bonhill Street
London
EC2A 4DN

T: 020 7369 3728
E: sakerman@kingsleynapley.co.uk

Susanne Buergi

Susanne Buergi

Hogan Lovells International LLP
Atlantic House
Holborn Viaduct
Holborn
London EC1A 2FG
T: 020 7296 2000
E: susanne.buergi@hoganlovells.com

David Jones

Fox Williams
10 Finsbury Square
Finsbury
London EC2A 1AF
T: 020 7614 2587
E: dmjones@foxwilliams.com

Edward Irwin

Edward Irwin

Peters & Peters Solicitors LLP
15 Fetter Lane
London 
EC4A 1BW
T: 020 7822 7777
E: eirwin@petersandpeters.com

Emily Joss

Emily Joss

Russell-Cooke LLP
8 Bedford Row
London
WC1R 4BX
T: 020 8789 9111
E: emily.joss@russell-cooke.co.uk

Hugo Cost Liziario

Hugo Costa Liziario

Penningtons Manches Cooper LLP
125 Wood Street
London
EC2V 7AW
T: 020 7753 7745
E: Hugo.CostaLiziario@penningtonslaw.com

Nadya Rouben

DLA Piper UK LLP
160 Aldersgate St
Barbican
London EC1A 4HT
T: 020 7796 6413
E: nadya.rouben@dlapiper.com