London Solicitors Litigation Association

About us

The LSLA caters for a broad range of commercial litigators drawn from the largest of the City’s top international firms, mid-size practices and smaller specialist firms based in and around London. All members share a common desire to network with one another and add to their knowledge via an active annual education programme of lectures and seminars presented by judges, leading QCs and other expert authorities that the LSLA’s prestigious reputation enables it to attract.

Government uses the LSLA as a sounding board for consultations on developments and proposed changes affecting civil and commercial litigation. The LSLA harnesses the considerable knowledge of its experienced litigators to help shape new law and promote access to civil justice.

In recent years the LSLA has submitted papers on the Supreme Court, the QC system, the judicial appointments system, various aspects of the costs regime, and Alternative Dispute Resolution. 

Members of the LSLA Committee participate in the work of influential committees including the Civil Justice Council, the Civil Procedure Rule Committee, the Civil Justice section of The Law Society, the Commercial Court Users Committee, the Rolls Building User Group and the Chancery User Group.   Representatives from the City of London Law Society and the City of Westminster and Holborn Law Society also sit on the LSLA Committee. 

The LSLA is an active supporter of campaigns overseas that promote London as a centre for international litigation and arbitration.

Benefits for Members

  • Each spring and autumn the LSLA holds a series of lectures on issues of topical concern. The quality of speakers  pays testament to the esteem in which the LSLA is held.

    Events & Lectures

  • The LSLA's monthly e-newsletter keeps all members up to date with the many activities of the Association, as well as providing a forum for debate.


  • There are a significant number of consultations on issues that impact on our members.  The LSLA notifies its members about ongoing consultations and debates, solicits comments and views, responds to consultations, and provides feedback on the outcomes.

    Consultations and Responses

  • The Association holds two dinners each year. A formal Dinner takes place in the autumn. The Dinner which follows our AGM in March is a more informal event at which a speaker is invited to lead a discussion on a matter of topical interest on a "Chatham House" basis.


  • The Junior LSLA is for members of the profession of eight years PQE or less.  It provides seminars, networking events and E-news.

    Junior Site

Recent Updates


The London Solicitors Litigation Association (LSLA) has elected Chris Bushell as its new President.


Is it already February?


UK litigators say the profession is lagging behind on diversity and inclusion


Season’s greetings to all our members. 


Nadya Rouben of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP and a committee member of the #JLSLA writes in the New Law Journal about the interaction of #withoutprejudice correspondence and #costs: (this is behind a paywall).

As ever, please respect the author/publisher's copyright.


An article written by Georgina Squire was published in Law Society Gazette, “Derivative actions and unfair prejudice petitions” 


Georgina Squire wrote an article published in New law Journal, “Is client confidentiality at risk again?” reporting on the recent developments


Welcome to this month’s newsletter, which looks at the LSLA’s new pro-bono initiative and reports on our future events and our recent activities.